Changes Faces – Inspiration

As an introduction to the brief, David provided us with his own collection of Graphic Design magazines for us to look through and get some ideas going. I took pictures of my favourite pages, each for a unique affectation that I thought gave it a presence and depth I enjoyed. As well as being careful and thorough with the technical aspects of my piece, grammar, hierarchy, line length etc. I want to make my piece stand out. I have ample creative freedom to produce whatever I like, which is going to make the real test the nailing down of good ideas and the discarding of others. I can’t use every idea or it’ll look like a cluttered mess. But I must make my piece unique and eye-catching.

Layering

2D

One aspect of type I have explored in a previous post is the extra depth and feel that can be lent to a page with the use of three-dimensional drawing. These two pieces I came across use entirely different methods to achieve a similar effect. The ripped section (left) draws the reader’s eye as it contains a subtle optical illusion. At first glance it appears as though the tear is real and the next page is poking through. The emphasis on the heading in both colouration and size lends a clear sense of hierarchy as well.

The article pictured on the right is a little more playful in its layout. The heading falls behind the body text but compensates for this by being in bight green, chunky, bold and oversized font. There are some issues with it however. The article in autobiographical and the name of the writer is in very small font, smaller than pats of the body text. To me personally there is something unsettling about the type incasing in size as it mov down the page, too.

3D

There were also two magazines who’s covers were textured. One had the heading embossed upon the page and standing slightly proud of the page which made the thing feel very premium. On the other the cover was lightly textured as yo ran your hand over it, achieving the same effect by different means. The embossing really does lend it a quality look and feel. I also love the constant circle theme throughout. It makes it flow very nicely.

Using light text on dark backgrounds was always a consideration for me. But using gold and silver effect makes that little difference.

Illustration

 

I’m a huge fan of illustration and incorporating it into my work would be a joy. Seeing as we are required to use our own media only, I feel my strong suit is illustration over photography. These two articles have completely different style to them. The left being a coloured vibrant image in sharp contrast to the rest of the page. The other being a simple line drawing that compliments the minimalist design of the spread rather than buck the trend. I also like the way that while body text, being small and legibility being a necessity. Stays in neat rows and columns. But images can transcend the single page giving them life as if they are passing across the paper.

These two pieces border between typographic and illustrative. I love their clean lines and minimalist styling. The use of block colours makes for an aesthetically pleasing page without appearing cluttered. Another advantage of the geometric lines of each page is that comparably intricate and ‘squiggly’ text sits on top without being overshadowed due to its contrast.

My Thoughts

All of these features are ones I am eager to experiment with and I’m sure even if only a select few make it to my final product I will learn significantly from putting them into practice and understanding what fits together and what needs to remain separate. I don’t yet know my limitations in terms of the possibility of embossing or texturing my work, but that will remain a secondary concern until I have a more solid base to work from.

Author: davidrothwell96hotmailcom

I am a Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan School of Art and Design If you like any of my work, have feedback (good or bad) or would like to get in touch, please do

Leave a Reply

