Screen Printing

We have been preparing for screen print for several days by editing and simplifying our own photos to make them appropriate. The preparation stage involved taking selected images and reducing the number of colours to two or three and then simplifying the lines of the image to make cutting out shapes manually possible.

I personally selected a couple of images I liked and edited them accordingly. However I somewhat misunderstood the processes that would be involved in the printing and so did not simplify them to a degree where they would be usable. For this reason I was forced to improvise in the lecture itself and design a print by hand there and then. Immediately prior to the lecture I had been re-watching a favourite film of mine and decided to recreate the scene in print. Using various images online as reference I began sketching.

in-the-fellowship-of-the-ring-aragorn-leads-frodo-and-the-others-towards-the-decimated-watchtower-of-amon-sul-better-known-as-weathertop
One of my main images of reference

Unfortunately the process was so engrossing and combined with my eagerness to begin printing I entirely forgot to document the first stages.

2016-11-12-12-07-10
George, a pier, setting up a screen for printing 

The process of screen printing is a lengthy one and could be seen as arduous, I however found performing the checklist of little tasks in the run up to the printing itself, very therapeutic.Fastening and balancing the screen, flooding the screen with ink, printing onto a clear plastic sheet to assess where the ink will fall on your page and finally printing. Once your set up is complete however, it takes moments to print each copy. I quickly knocked out four copies with the first layer applied.

2016-11-12-12-06-49
Layer 1

Other than allowing for each layer to dry there was nothing required other than repeating the process, in my case four times over. My third layer image for some reason has corrupted making it impossible to include it in this post.

2016-11-12-12-07-35
Layer 2

 

2016-11-12-12-07-57
Layer 4 completed image
Author: davidrothwell96hotmailcom

I am a Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan School of Art and Design If you like any of my work, have feedback (good or bad) or would like to get in touch, please do

Leave a Reply

