Pattern Creation using an Image

In our second group since moving on from Word, our work has come to consist more of imagery and computer image manipulation. Ray Nicklin, our lecturer for this subject, set us the task of creating a patterned page by duplicating an image (preferably one we had taken ourselves) as a background. We would then use a relevant image and apply it to the centre foreground.

For this task we had been asked to bring a personal item with us and photograph it for the task. I asked, however, that I be aloud to use old images of mine and was given permission by Ray. My chosen image was from a holiday to Paris in 2012, i pulled it from my Facebook page.

420002_437965896246430_1520297155_n
The Eiffel tower from its base

I chose this image for several reasons. Firstly, I like the level of contrast with the pitch black sky against the glow of the illuminated tower. I thought this would allow me to repeat the image multiple times without entirely losing the definition. I also hoped that the girders would mesh with adjoining images if I inverted every second image horizontally.

(image to be inserted)

I was more than satisfied with the pattern I had created. The image had the intended effects and actually look more impressive than I’d expected. We had been asked to copy the image over and over to fill the page, inverting each one as we saw fit. I decided to speed the process up by completing the top line of the pattern, with all the time consuming inverting process done. I then duplicated it and flipped the image upside down for the next line. I simply repeated this process until the page was covered evenly and symmetrically.

   The sizing of the individual images took careful adjustment as I wanted enough images to give the pattern appearance but also to make them large enough that a careful observer would understand what the image was. I believe the size I used in my final piece was the most appropriate as I wanted the centre foreground image to be the main focus of the piece, hierarchy is key in all page layouts. Once the pattern was created I searched through my library to look for a good centre image, I couldn’t find one that I thought would be appropriate however. I needed a bold image which was symmetrical and eye catching. So I was forced to search online.

eiffel_tower_at_dawn_horizontal-1
The Eiffel Tower at dawn

Although this image is not mine, it makes up for that by being stunningly beautiful. I sourced it from Wikipedia and as such, sadly I cannot credit the Photographer as they are anonymous. I chose this image for several reasons, firstly the powerful contrast it gives against the background image. This image is, as sighted, taken at dawn. The bright sky illuminating the dark mass of the Eiffel Tower. Another reason for using this mage was it’s symmetry. The picture was taken from the direct front and from a raised platform giving an accurate, regular perspective of the tower.

pattern-piece
My Final Piece

To create my final piece I used the image of the Eiffel Tower I took from Wikipedia and trimmed it down to an appropriate aspect ratio for the portrait oriented piece.This has the added bonus of highlighting the tower itself as unedited there is a large quantity on unwanted background in the image. After centring the image I thought the line between the fore and background was poorly defined, in places, with some areas dark on dark and some light on light. I therefore decided to apply a white border to my foreground image to clearly demarcate it. White was an obvious choice as it provided a clean crisp outline and did not blend at all with the colourful sky of the foreground image.

All in all I was pleased with my piece and enjoyed the experience of creating it. It was a satisfying process that delivers positive outcomes. The fact that I could incorporate my own experiences in an implicit manner was very fulfilling and gave me extra incentive to produce the best work I could.

 

 

Author: davidrothwell96hotmailcom

I am a Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan School of Art and Design If you like any of my work, have feedback (good or bad) or would like to get in touch, please do

Leave a Reply

