Six Word Posters, My Favourites

When we showcased our work to the class, it was done by covering an entire wall of the room with them side by side.  Until that point I had been confident that I had done all I could to my poster.  However, the level of creativity and variety was brilliant.  The vaguely defined brief had been filtered through dozens of different minds and each had come out with a different result.

2016-10-10-16-29-17
A collage of our completed posters

Every creative avenue available seems to have been explored.  My own piece, white on black at the very top, was deemed solid, which I was happy with, but it was not my favourite by a long stretch.  Unfortunately, with so many pieces, I can’t remember the creator of each, but here are some I really liked.  .2016-10-10-16-30-04

This first one summarises the story of The Witches (1983).  The piece has so clearly been designed while also being wonderfully abstract and disorderly.  It looks just like the cover of a children’s book should, with large irregular type seeming to fill the page while leaving enough negative space that it doesn’t feel overly crowded.  It is lively and distinctive with excellent hybrids, such as in the word ‘Evil,’ which looks jagged and foreboding.  This is probably my favourite of the pieces I’ve seen.

 

2016-10-10-16-30-56

 

 

One person went to extra lengths to make theirs stand out and it’s this outside the box type of thinking that I really want to develop for myself.  Their poster design summarises The BFG (1982).

I had wanted to use this book, however, I couldn’t come up with a decent six words I thought would do the story justice.  This poster hasn’t worried about recounting the events of the story and instead captures its essence.  Using the unique pseudo language of the book such as ‘whizzpopping’ and ‘human beans’ encapsulates the feeling of the story.

My other reason for picking this piece out of so many was the interesting distortion that had been applied to the poster.  I assumed some clever digital editing skills had been applied over many hours, but the page had simply been photocopied while bent out of shape slightly.  Although, in this case, it did make some of the lettering difficult to make out, I really loved the idea.

As much as I am learning directly from lectures and my own trial and error, I feel I am gaining valuable lessons from the work of those around me.  My perceptions and scope of understanding have already been expanded massively with regards to typography.

Author: davidrothwell96hotmailcom

I am a Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan School of Art and Design If you like any of my work, have feedback (good or bad) or would like to get in touch, please do

Leave a Reply

