Quentin Blake Exhibition

As part of our research, we were asked to meet outside the National Museum in Cardiff as there was an exhibition  showcasing the work of notable children’s book illustrator Quentin Blake, and his work on Roald Dahl books.

20161004_105447

Studying the dozens of pieces that covered the walls was very nostalgic, I can remember finding the illustrations a major part of the attraction of the books, as a very visual person. The frantic, sketchy disorderly imagery has a unique quality, it looks as though it’s a snapshot of a moving, living scene.

Seeing Blake’s work made me realise illustration can be messy and seemingly without order and still deeply effective. I was inspired to try my hand at producing a style reminiscent of his. And I found that although minimalist in it’s detail, Blake’s work is deserving of it’s notoriety. I was quite pleased with my attempt,a self portrait of me in the gallery where i drew it. But it didn’t compare to a true Quentin Blake piece. He said himself ‘I do a freewheeling sort of drawing that looks as though it is done on the spur of the moment. However even a single drawing needs a certain amount of preparation and planning.’

2016-10-04-13-10-08
Unfortunately there was no photography permitted inside the exhibition so I had to make my own, complete with a famous quote ‘I discovered that a drawing can fulfil it’s purpose and still be scratchy and instinctive and badly behaved

 

Author: David Rothwell

I am a Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan School of Art and Design If you like any of my work, have feedback (good or bad) or would like to get in touch, please do

Leave a Reply

