Typographic Hybrids

David gave us the task of creating a typographic hybrid piece by manually cutting letter-forms from two fonts and rearranging them to create hybrids. Before setting them in a manner that conveys the essence of the word visually. David emphasised the importance of careful planning and preparation, so we began by sketching some quick preliminary sketches. It was lucky we went through this step as David was less than impressed with my first attempts.

2016-10-05-13-05-27
My early designs, David old me to widen my perspective after viewing the top four.

My area in art & design has always been order and symmetry, I like drawing things from life or symmetrical patterns. So this task took me right out of my comfort zone.I actually chose the word ‘Imbalance’ as a response to what David told me. I wanted to force myself to design something haphazard and disproportional. During our process we were introduced to Typesnap which randomly meshes letter-forms together to create hybrid typeface examples, this helped me visualise the process David was trying to teach us to perform and begin creating my own.

2016-10-03-18-27-50
My hand drawn layout
2016-10-03-18-13-48
My final piece
Author: David Rothwell

I am a Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan School of Art and Design If you like any of my work, have feedback (good or bad) or would like to get in touch, please do

Leave a Reply

