Introduction to Adobe Illustrator

At A level my predominantly used Photoshop my my graphics work. I’d never used Illustrator until this past Friday and although they appeared deceptively similar at first, I’m excited to do more on Illustrator as it offers huge advantages. We were given a crash course in type creation and shown the multitude of tricks to manipulate every aspect of our designs. Step by step we created four example piece and created unique typefaces.

tutorial-work-1
Turning text into shapes to allow for colouring and manipulation of segments
tutorial-work-2
Changing anchor points to stretch and distort the type

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

tutorial-work-3
A practice piece where we used our new found skills and imagination
tutorial-work-4
Adjusting the prominence of letters overlaid on one another

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still feel that my greatest challenge on this course will be thinking outside the box to create truly unique pieces of work. However constructive criticism and workshops such as this have allowed me to get to grips with what it is I need to change in my process.

Author: David Rothwell

I am a Graphic Communication student at Cardiff Metropolitan School of Art and Design If you like any of my work, have feedback (good or bad) or would like to get in touch, please do

Leave a Reply

